The Scents of the Season.

Aromatic

As we left the house the other day my son paused outside the door with his nose in the air and said ‘it smells like Autumn today’.  I love that he knows what Autumn smells like and I know exactly what he means.  The smell of Autumn in the air is one of my favourite things about this time of year.  I used to struggle with the darker days, missing the sun and finding it hard to adjust to being indoors more.  But I have decided to embrace the Autumn and Winter seasons and find things I love about them.  Here’s where my love of lists comes in:

Things I love about the darker days….

  • Fire light and the warmth of the fire.
  • Candle light.
  • Cosy nights snuggled up to my loved ones.
  • Casseroles, dumplings, baked potatoes and roast dinners.
  • Autumn colours, rich reds, oranges, yellows brown and golds.
  • Crisp, frosty mornings.
  • Time to be creative and craft.
  • Time to withdraw and reflect, learn and refresh.
  • The Yule solstice a time when I feel closely connected to the land and ancestors as we honour age old traditions without really knowing why, just because our instinct calls us.
  • Christmas, family meals, giving heartfelt gifts, decorating the house with green branches and pretty trinkets.  A time when we share good news and celebrate beautiful acts of peace and kindness.
  • Gingerbread (the taste and the smell!).
  • Cold, clear, cloudless night skies when you can see all the stars.
  • Hot chocolate (with marshmallows, cream, sprinkles and sometimes even a candy cane on the side!).
  • Walks and kicking through the leaves.
  • Festive gatherings with friends and family.

Theres so much to look forward to, I wish you all a mellow and fruitful Autumn.

Namaste x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

